Louis & Duke - Together For The First Time LP — DNA Skip to content
Same day delivery by 5pm inside Amman
Same day delivery by 7pm inside Amman

Louis & Duke - Together For The First Time LP

by Records
JD 28.000
SKU 5060397601933

When stars collide, sparks will fly. At least that’s the theory. Louis Armstrong and Duke Ellington accepted the invitation to record together with dignity and polite courtesy. While keen to see what this pairing might produce artistically speaking, it was certainly an historic occasion. As the red light went on and the tapes rolled, Duke on piano and Louis on trumpet and vocals, backed by the Armstrong All-Stars began to play. As Ellington hits the keys on a riff that sounds suspiciously like C Jam Blues and Satchmo sings cheerfully ‘Baby, take me down to Duke’s Place!’ the champions are ready to exchange ideas rather than blows. Perhaps unsurprisingly Louis soon emerged from this unique musical gathering as the natural born leader. But all the source material was firmly Ellingtonian. Both men had enjoyed extraordinary careers and were world renowned figures when the idea of bringing them together was first proposed.


Track List

Side One

1. Duke’s Place
2. I’m Just A Lucky So And So
3. Cotton Tail
4. Mood Indigo
5. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me

Side Two

1. The Beautiful American
2. Black And Tan Fantasy
3. Drop Me Off In Harlem
4. The Mooche
5. In A Mellow Tone



Cash & Card on Delivery